Drape or escape?

In many of my creative drawing classes, I have felt like running away. however, I particularly enjoyed the week where we got to drape different fabric’s onto mannequins in any way we wanted, in order to draw them.
IMG_1210

This is what I came up with, I feel that the way the fabric is falling creates really interesting lines and shadows which I then attempted to portray in my drawings. I am a firm believer that drawing is a skill that takes hours and hours of practice to master and I have not yet mastered it. I still gave it my best shot and here are some examples of what I came up with using both my mannequin and others around the room.

IMG_1213 IMG_1214 IMG_1215 IMG_1216 IMG_1217

I started by using just pencil, but then began experimenting with different medias such as pastels, felt tips and Biro. The last two images have to be my personal favorites, I like the contrast between the thin Biro and the thicker brown felt tip as I believe it gives more depth to the drawing.

Leave a Reply

